Multimatics Insight

What's Covered in the ITIL Service Lifecycle? (Part 1)

itil lifecycle

ITIL was developed since organization becomes more dependent on IT to fulfil their business objectives. This has resulted an urge to have a better IT services of quality which corresponding to the business objectives as well as could fulfil the requirements and expectations of customers. In its third version, ITIL offers a service life cycle management divided into five services which will be discussed further in two parts of articles.

Understand the Processes of ITIL Lifecycle

ITIL or Information Technology Infrastructure Library is a volumes library that describes a best practices framework for delivering IT services. ITIL has been updated several times and ITIL V4 now becomes the latest ITIL version which complements its previous version (ITIL V3). ITIL V3 organizes five lifecycle process of ITIL divided into: Service Strategy, Service Design, Service Transition, Service Operation, and Continual Service Improvement. This article will be discussed about the first two lifecycle process of ITIL, namely Service Strategy and Service Design.

First, Service Strategy helps organizations to determine the types of services they should offer to the markets. The goal is to make strategic decisions in planning and delivering targeted services to drive long-term growth and success. This guide conducts a strategic review of all ITSM processes and components in IT organizations including roles, responsibilities, supporting technology, and many more. As a lifecycle stage, Service Strategy have five processes that shall be known by organizations divided into Strategy Management for IT Services, Demand Management, Business Relationship Management, Service Portfolio Management, and Financial Management.

Second, Service Design provides guidelines and best practices for designing new IT processes and services as well as preparing the ITSM implementation. It aims to design new services or old services that have been modified, analyze whether new services are corresponding with IT resource & capability, design technology architectures according to the services, and supporting IT management & IT tools. Service Design also has seven ITIL processes which has different functions that broken down into Service Catalog Management, Service Level Management, Suplier Management, Capacity Management, Availability Management, IT Service Continuity Management, and Information Security Management


ITIL service lifecycle is an approach to IT Service Management which places an emphasis on the how important coordination and control is, across the various functions, processes and systems which are necessary to manage the complete lifecycle of IT services. The next article will discuss the next three ITIL service lifecycle.

Cannon. D. (2011). Service Strategy. Norwich: TSO (The Stationery Office).
Lloyd. V., Rudd, C. (2011). ITIL Version 3 Service Design. Buckinghamshire: OGC.
Van Bon, J., De Jong, A., Kolthof, A., Pieper, M., Tjassing, R., Van Der Veen, A., & Verheijen, T. (2008).
Foundations of IT Service Management Based on ITIL® (Vol. 3). Van Haren.

Share this on:

Scroll to Top