Training & Certifications

The ITIL® ST (Service Transition) course is part of the ITIL® Intermediate Lifecycle stream. The course prepares candidates to take the ITIL® Service Transition Intermediate exam as well as providing valuable knowledge that can be implemented in the workplace. The Service Transition Certificate is a free-standing qualification but is also part of the ITIL® Intermediate Lifecycle stream. It is one of the modules that leads to the ITIL® Expert Certificate in IT Service Management (ITSM). The purpose of this module, exam, and certificate is to impart, test, and validate the knowledge on industry practices in IT Service Management as documented in the ITIL® Service Transition publication.

At the end of the program, the participants will be able to :

    • Understand the ITIL® Service Transition
    • Know and understand the Service Transition principles and processes
    • Manage people through service transitions
    • Organize for Service Transition
    • Identify the challenges, critical success factors, and risks
    • Implement and improve on Service Transition

CIOs, CTOs, managers, supervisory staff, team leaders, designers, architects, planners, IT consultants, IT audit managers, and IT security managers who require a detailed understanding of the ITIL® Service Transition phase of the Lifecycle and the affected processes, functions and activities, and the application.

This program is 4 days of intensive training class.

An ITIL® Foundation certificate is required and preferably two years of work experience in an IT Service Management environment.

At the end of the program, the participants will be assessed with 90 minutes of ITIL® Service Transition Exam.

ITIL® Service Transition Certification will be awarded upon successfully passing the exam from APMG International (ITIL® Accredited Examination Institute – UK)

  1. Service Transition introduction
  2. Purpose and objectives
  3. Scope of Service Transition
  4. Service Transition processes
  5. Value to business
  6. Inputs and outputs within the service lifecycle
  7. The Service Transition package
  8. Service acceptance criteria
  9. The ITIL® certification scheme
  10. The exam format
  1. Service Transition contents
  2. Principles and policies
  3. Best practices
  4. Optimizing Service Transition performance
  5. Metrics for alignment with Business and IT plans
  6. Metrics for Service Transition
  1. Transition planning and support
  2. Change management
  3. Service asset and configuration management
  4. Release and deployment management
  5. Service validation and testing
  6. Service evaluation
  1. Communication
  2. Organizational change
  3. Organizational change products
  4. Planning/implementing change
  5. Resistance to change
  6. Stakeholder management
  1. Introduction
  2. Process owner
  3. Service owner
  4. Organizational context
  5. Relationship with other lifecycle stages
  6. Key roles and responsibilities
  1. Considerations of technology
  2. Service Transition support tools
  3. ITSM technology
  4. Knowledge management tools
  5. Collaboration – communities and workflow management
  6. Configuration management system
  1. Justifying Service Transition
  2. Designing Service Transition
  3. Introducing Service Transition
  4. Cultural change
  5. Risks and value
  6. Implementation challenges, CSF’s and risks
  7. Services Transition under difficult circumstances
  8. Integrated Service Transition processes
  9. Service Transition in a virtual cloud environment
  1. Business case study and exercises
  2. Sample exams
  3. Glossary & acronyms
  4. Feedback
  5. Recap

Scroll to Top