Training & Certifications

The ITIL® SD (Service Design) course is part of the ITIL® Intermediate Lifecycle stream. The course prepares candidates to take the ITIL® Service Design Intermediate exam as well as providing valuable knowledge that can be implemented in the workplace. The Service Design Certificate is a free-standing qualification but is also part of the ITIL® Intermediate Lifecycle stream. It is one of the modules that leads to the ITIL® Expert Certificate in IT Service Management (ITSM). The purpose of this module, exam, and certificate is to impart, test, and validate the knowledge on industry practices in IT Service Management as documented in the ITIL® Service Design publication.

At the end of the program, the participants will be able to :

  1. Understand the ITIL® Service Design
  2. Know and understand the Service Design principles and processes
  3. Able to do Service Design technology-related activities
  4. Organize the service management for Service Design
  5. Identify the challenges, critical success factors, and risks
  6. Implement and improve on Service Design

CIOs, CTOs, managers, supervisory staff, team leaders, designers, architects, planners, IT consultants, IT audit managers, and IT security managers who require a detailed understanding of the ITIL® Service Design phase of the Lifecycle and the affected processes, functions and activities, and the application.

This program is 4 days of intensive training class.

An ITIL® Foundation certificate is required and preferably two years of work experience in an IT Service Management environment.

At the end of the program, the participants will be assessed with 90 minutes of ITIL® Service Design Exam.

ITIL® Service Design Certification will be awarded upon successfully passing the exam from APMG International (ITIL® Accredited Examination Institute – UK)

  • Service Design introduction
  • Purpose and objectives
  • Scope of Service Design
  • Service Design processes
  • Value to business
  • Inputs and outputs within the service lifecycle
  • The Service Design package
  • Service acceptance criteria
  • The ITIL® certification scheme
  • The exam format
  • Service Design principles and service composition
  • Importance and approach to a balanced design
  • Service requirements, business requirements, and drivers
  • Design activities and constraints
  • Principles and the five aspects of Service Design
  • The 5 Design aspects
  • Designing service solutions components
  • Designing management systems (Service portfolio)
  • Designing measurement systems
  • Designing technology architectures
  • Designing processes
  • Service Oriented Architecture (SOA)
  • Service Design models
  • Delivery models, sourcing options
  • Design and development options
  • Design and development approaches
  • Key links, inputs and outputs of Service Design
  • In-depth design coordination
  • Service catalog management
  • Service level management
  • Capacity management
  • Availability management
  • IT service continuity management
  • Information security management
  • Supplier management
  • Requirements engineering
  • Documenting requirements
  • Data and information management
  • Application management
  • Function and organizational structures
  • The RACI model
  • Roles and activity analysis
  • Roles and responsibilities within Service Design
  1. Service design tools
  2. Service management tools
  3. Tool evaluation criteria
  1. Service Design activities related to BIA, SLR’s, Risks
  2. Six stage implementation approach
  3. CSF’s and KPI’s
  4. Prerequisites for success
  5. Risks

Scroll to Top